Casting

Over time, I try to get most of the kids in the class into a story. It does wonders for a kid’s confidence to get through a story as an actor, even if they just stand there like a prop, which is all they really usually have to do.

However, if a story requires four actors, grabbing them in the moments of creating the story can be risky. Some kids volunteer just for attention – they can really mess up a story. 

I think of the students I want in certain roles in advance. Even if I don’t have a lot of time to do so, at least I can think about whom I don’t want in the story. The right casting makes a difference.

Leave a Reply

