More on the Realm

It seems some people are cautious about the Realm right now. I have no agenda, but I like to talk about it. I don’t think it is any harder than stories. It is stories! (I just call each new day’s story an “episode” instead…)

Maybe people think that, without a base of words and a story line, they will too far “out there” and it will just be too unstructured. 

But aren’t real conversations unstructured?  Wouldn’t it be sad if people had to follow some kind of preset line of discussion in a normal everyday conversation, using only certain words built around a theme?

Susie Gross has often said to me, “All you need is something to talk about.”  Well, in the Realm at the time of this writing, we have a new character named Rosa Rinkle who would rather be called Barbie the Baker who baked the largest gingerbread man ever and who doesn’t like celebrities because all the men smell bad and would like to work professionally as the host of a show called the “Iron Baker”. Rosa hates her daily chore of having to sweep the dirt road in front of her bakery. 

Is that something to talk about? I think it is a major vein of gold in the mine of potential interesting CI for Rosa’s class. And I didn’t even have to search in the mine for this information, it came to me in the form of a cool character card and a questionnaire that I laminated, along with the others, for quick and easy reference during stories.

Just the other day Rosa had an altercation with a duke and a fool in front of her bakery. I won’t go into details. Suffice to say the kids were into it. I didn’t have to work hard that day. The kids did it. That day they made the 50% Rule look more like the 80% Them rule.

Leave a Reply

